Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting up IAVS in Pudkkottai district of Tamilnadu India

Hi all,
    a little bit about myself. I am part of an NGO which has been teaching organic farming for 30 years now, although i myself only joined a few years ago so when i have doubts i have access to many experts in the field. my father in law who started this NGO is one of the most knowledgeable people you can find in the organic agriculture field, and has been a part of the Tamilnadu movement to bring educated people back to farming right from the beginning.

Although im new to this forum I have been experimenting with aquaponics for about 7 months now. I was introduced to IAVS by Gary and i immediately fell in love with it. it fulfills all my criteria for low cost farm scale aquaponics for profit, infact i was in the process of designing a very similar system built into the ground using HDPE pond liner plastic but with gravel instead of sand and id like to thank Gary from saving me from that nightmare.

So far i have a design i have finalised on for an IAVS which spans 1 Cent of land (1% of an acre) and if i can prove the concept works i also have a plan to start a 5 cent variant. and finally once that is successful it can be made into a single module of 5 cents which can be repeated no matter what the area. (i choose 5 cents because then the fish tank would end up around 20,000 litres which i do not think is wise to exceed)

My plan is to start an open air IAVS and as the income comes in use that to build the greenhouse above it. so far as per my calculations my investment for the one cent IAVS is about INR 15-20,000. which is the same as i spent for my backyard aquaponics unit with a growbed size of only 17sft. in contrast by building it in the ground the 1 cent growbed is working out to be 440 sft of grow area, with a fishtank of around 5000 litres.